Export 3D data into Confomap

Share Smartzoom knowledge. Success stories. Application notes. Won & Lost cases. Share news from competition.
Post Reply
user-4053
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Export 3D data into Confomap

Post by user-4053 »

Torsten Rudolf has written a tutorial how to export 3D data from Smartzoom into Confomap.

Please see Attachement.

[ATTACH]263[/ATTACH]
(Updated 2016-02-11)
Attachments
20160211_export_Smartzoom_3D_data_import_to_ConfoMap_v3.pdf
(4.82 MiB) Downloaded 102 times
user-4053
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Only available with premium edition of Confomap

Post by user-4053 »

Only available with premium edition of Confomap
user-4053
Posts: 54
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Confomap can't import Smartzoom CZI files

Post by user-4053 »

Please be aware that Confomap can't import Smartzoom CZI files.

Currently a premium edition of Confomap is required to import the 3D data into Confomap.
user-1333
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Post by user-1333 »

Hi,
is that reasonable to sell such SZ5 + ConfoMap solution to the customer ?
I know the workaround with exporting 3D TXT and then EDF image, but I don't think that the customers are willing to accept it.
user-1333
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

Post by user-1333 »

This solution works... but not always.
Confomap gets crazy often, because (depending on magnification) the data exported from SZ5 are wrong. See the attached example. Some lines are defined twice. It makes it hard to read the data in Confomap and hopefully does not change the topo/results !

0 0 47.98339
0 0.001 47.98339
0 0.001 47.98339

0 0.002 47.98339
0 0.003 47.98338
0 0.004 47.98338
0 0.004 47.98338

0 0.005 47.98338
0 0.006 47.98336
0 0.007 47.98336
0 0.007 47.98336

0 0.008 47.98336
0 0.009 47.9833

So my short question is, when a reasonable confomap export function will be available ?
(I just "sold" one SZ5 in Spain, but I do not know what to do with ConfoMap issue...)
user-96
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

tutorial upgrade

Post by user-96 »

February 2016: 3D data exported from Smartzoom as ASCII can finally be imported into the ST version of ConfoMap (at least since Version 7.3)!
Attachments
export_Smartzoom_3D_data_import_to_ConfoMap_v3.pdf
(4.82 MiB) Downloaded 90 times
user-96
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 1970 1:00 am

data transfer to ConfoMap

Post by user-96 »

Since Smartzoom-software version 1.2 (around 2016_08) it is possible to directly save data as czi and open it with ConfoMap. This is true for ConfoMap version 7.3! On my parallel 7.2 installation it does not work and ConfoMap crashes. Not sure whether it works with one of the hotfixes for 7.2. Unfortunately, only the latest hotfix is put online by Digital Surf which upgrades ConfoMap to 7.3. Keep in mind that, as far as I know, 7.3 is at present not our officially supported ConfoMap version... Having ConfoMap 7.3 it is no longer necessary to follow the old workaround of importing height map and texture separately. It is directly loaded as a surface+image studiable.
Post Reply