Page 1 of 1

Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Posted: Sat Jul 24, 2021 4:19 pm
by Matthew Cottrell
Where can I find the image processing functions for edges, for example the Sobel function?

On the Processing tab I see a search box. But typing "Sobel" returns no results.

I'm running Zen Blue version 3.3 with the following modules:

Image analysis
Macro environment

Are the edge functions found in a module that I don't have?

Re: Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 12:12 pm
by CarlZeissMicroscopy3
Hello Matthew Cottrell,

Sobel is a processing function so it is found on the Processing tab.

Typing Sobel in the Search-field should show the Method itself.

In OAD you can access Sobel via

Zen.Processing.Filter.Edges.Sobel(...)

By the way: If you search for Sobel in the forum you will also find a contribution ; -)

Re: Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Posted: Mon Jul 26, 2021 5:41 pm
by Matthew Cottrell
Okay, I now see the Sobel edge detector in the macro environment as Zen.Processing.Filter.Edges.Sobel(...).

However, it's still absent from the Processing tab and typing "Sobel" in the search box returns no results.

I'm writing a macro, so I've found what I need now.

Still, it's strange that Sobel does not appear in the ZEN application user interface under the Processing tab.

Re: Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Posted: Tue Jul 27, 2021 10:53 am
by CarlZeissMicroscopy3
I now see the Sobel edge detector in the macro environment as Zen.Processing.Filter.Edges.Sobel(...)
Still, it's strange that Sobel does not appear in the ZEN application user interface under the Processing tab.
Hello Matthew Cottrell,

there might be a very simple answer to this:

Please select 'Tools' in the menu bar and then click 'Modules Manager'.
Here (optional Software) you see all the modules that are (additionally) available:

* If you cannot find "Advanced Processing" then the module is not available.
* If you see it but it is not selected, you have to activate it.

With the "Macro Environment" a bundle of the "Advanced Processing" functions are accessible. But these "additional functions" cannot be selected via GUI.