Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Discuss questions and projects related to processing of imaging data here
Post Reply
Matthew Cottrell
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 4:10 pm

Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Post by Matthew Cottrell »

Where can I find the image processing functions for edges, for example the Sobel function?

On the Processing tab I see a search box. But typing "Sobel" returns no results.

I'm running Zen Blue version 3.3 with the following modules:

Image analysis
Macro environment

Are the edge functions found in a module that I don't have?
CarlZeissMicroscopy3
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 10:10 am

Re: Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Post by CarlZeissMicroscopy3 »

Hello Matthew Cottrell,

Sobel is a processing function so it is found on the Processing tab.

Typing Sobel in the Search-field should show the Method itself.

In OAD you can access Sobel via

Zen.Processing.Filter.Edges.Sobel(...)

By the way: If you search for Sobel in the forum you will also find a contribution ; -)
Matthew Cottrell
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Jul 24, 2021 4:10 pm

Re: Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Post by Matthew Cottrell »

Okay, I now see the Sobel edge detector in the macro environment as Zen.Processing.Filter.Edges.Sobel(...).

However, it's still absent from the Processing tab and typing "Sobel" in the search box returns no results.

I'm writing a macro, so I've found what I need now.

Still, it's strange that Sobel does not appear in the ZEN application user interface under the Processing tab.
CarlZeissMicroscopy3
Posts: 87
Joined: Wed May 20, 2020 10:10 am

Re: Image Processing Functions (Sobel)

Post by CarlZeissMicroscopy3 »

I now see the Sobel edge detector in the macro environment as Zen.Processing.Filter.Edges.Sobel(...)
Still, it's strange that Sobel does not appear in the ZEN application user interface under the Processing tab.
Hello Matthew Cottrell,

there might be a very simple answer to this:

Please select 'Tools' in the menu bar and then click 'Modules Manager'.
Here (optional Software) you see all the modules that are (additionally) available:

* If you cannot find "Advanced Processing" then the module is not available.
* If you see it but it is not selected, you have to activate it.

With the "Macro Environment" a bundle of the "Advanced Processing" functions are accessible. But these "additional functions" cannot be selected via GUI.
Post Reply